Nautical Lady Lair

A sneak-peak for my friends and family.. who knew what the “before” looked like!

I’ve had a ton of fun re-painting, and re-working my lady-lair-laundry room. I painted it up with “Bird’s Egg” by Benjamin Moore.

init

I decided to update my desk (that I’ve had for as long as I can remember) and hutch that my dad built 🙂 I used the same technique using chalk-paint as when I did Davin’s toy-dresser. It’s amazing that it worked as well as it did, given that the latex paint (Cloud White by Benjamin Moore) was super old and chunky.. when mixed with the plaster of paris and water, it was the consistency of cottage cheese!

desk detailI also added some pretty crystal drawer pulls from Home Hardware.

I’ve been collecting some nautical-themed accessories for a while and I love them on the window ledge above the washer and dryer. Unfortunately, you can’t appreciate the coral (with wind-up mermaid), ship’s wheel barometer and thermometer (that I just picked up at a new antique store in town), sail-boat ($3 G-sale find) and my red lantern (dumpster-diving at under the cloak of night!)

naut detI also added my cute wreath to the left of the ledge, and this sweet letter-press mermaid that I got at Circle Craft Fair in Vancouver a couple years ago. I framed it with a navy burlap “matte” and dry-painted white craft paint on an old wooden frame.

I am particularly proud of this little organizational job:grass curtainI was so sick of seeing the clutter, so I rigged up this little hidey-curtain. The navy bins with the chalk-board side (and fabric boxes in another shot) are all from the Dollerama ($2.50 and $3) The black and white tins are from Ikea.

I was getting so carried away, that I decided to keep going and do the entry-way too. My mirror is currently at the framing shop getting a new frame.

foyer b4 aftHope you enjoyed this little tour… and I hope to see you in person real soon!

scissors-vintage-graphicsfairy008b

2 thoughts on “Nautical Lady Lair

  1. Pingback: Nautical Birthday Reminder | The Craft Fairy

Leave a Reply

