A Mother’s Day Sash

“A mother is the truest friend we have, when trials heavy and sudden fall upon us; when adversity takes the place of prosperity; when friends desert us; when trouble thickens around us, still will she cling to us, and endeavor by her kind precepts and counsels to dissipate the clouds of darkness, and cause peace to return to our hearts.”
― Washington Irving

Happy Mother's Day 1a

This describes my relationship with my mom to a T. She’s among the first I call to celebrate successes, but more importantly, she’s number one when life deals me a less than perfect hand. This Mother’s Day, I wanted to let her know, with the interweb as my witness, how much I love her and appreciate her and think she’s the BEST!

In celebration of how my mom would win the best mom ever contest, I made this adorable sash.

Making the Sash:

I got inspired after making the stamped ribbon for my bird wreath, and thought – what else could I stamp onto a ribbon!?!

I got stamping, then added some more ribbon to make a rosette at one end.

Finally, I added a crown brooch that I had kicking around (I found it in the dollar bin at Michael’s ages ago).

Happy Mother's Day 2

Other Applications:

Since making this, I’ve thought of another cute application: I will be bringing one along to the next baby shower I’m hosting. The Mama of honour can wear it with pride!

Also, I’m loving how quick and easy it was.. I think I will do it next year at school with my grade 2 class. They can stamp the words and we can add some kind of ribbon flower or rosette on the shoulder.

Unfortunately, because my mom doesn’t live near me, I had to model the sash for her. While my kids might think I’m #1, I owe it all to her.

Happy Mother's Day 3

Love you, Mom!

scissors-vintage-graphicsfairy008b

Leave a Reply

